ETSY 101: How To Promote Your ETSY Shop

Stones of Autumn

Stones of Autumn

 

Setting up shop online, on ETSY, can be a lot of hard work and especially at the beginning. I have been a successful jewelry artist with my customers that I see at jewelry parties, or talk with on the phone, and the online world for me was a little scary and overwhelming. I was so used to the word by mouth and referral customers that I didn’t know where to start when it came to selling on ETSY, and I am still learning day by day. I hope the information I provide is this blog can help steer you the right way.

 

1. Have Business Cards With Your Etsy Shop On Them.  Some of the most business you will get will be from who you know, and who knows you. A great step to getting your name and your ETSY shop out in the open is to hand out business cards that have all your company’s information on them. I have had a few people call me that I met while out on Karokee night, who said they absolutely love my stuff, and will be purchasing in the near future. You may not have immediate sales (also since it is summer, slower shopping season) but when they are in the market for a nice gift they’ll think of you and that card you gave them.

 

2.  Start a Blog.  Starting a blog is a great way for people to get to know who you are and helps potential customers find you. People love content, and they love knowing the artist behind the shop. Plus, it is a great way to educate people on what you know. Advice can go a long way in gathering new customers, so share what you know and you would be surprised how many people will just love you for it! I enjoy writing in my blog, it makes me feel more connected with people interested in jewelry.

 

3. Market Yourself Through Social Networks. Social Networking Sites are a great way to market yourself online and also a great way to make a close niche of friends who have the same interests as you. It is also a great tool for marketing. There are intems on ETSY, such as ETSY Mini, you can add to your blog on MYSPACE or send out as a bullentin to all your friends. You can submit pictures on your site of some of your newest creations as well as blogs on your current projects in the pipeline.

 

4.Get Involved on ETSY! I think one of the best ways to get yourself known on ETSY is to be involved and make friends through Virtual Labs, Chat, and the Forums. Offer advice, and ask questions. These places are here to help you, as well as get to know you. Just remember sellers are also buyers, and the more they see your AVATAR in the forums the more likely they are going to see whats in your shop. There are also great places to go and promote yourself on the forums! They are one of my favorite places to visit on ETSY.

 

5. Showcase and Treasure Yourself.  It is a great way for people to find you, especially if you are in the jewelry business and find your listings getting lost among the other talented artists.

 

Some other useful sites  that I like to use:

www.indiegroup.com

www.projectwonderful.com

www.lunacrafts.com

 

Have fun, promote, and get yourself out there. Having ETSY shop is suppose to be fun, but also remember to market yourself so people can find you.

43 Comments

  1. Diane said,

    August 14, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Great ideas! Here is another :
    http://www.socialmarker.com
    This is an excellent way to use one site to submit your info to 47 different social sites
    Propeller.com, Slashdot.org, Digg.com, Technorati.com
    Del.icio.us, Stumbleupon.com, Twitter.com, Reddit.com
    Tagza.com, Fark.com, Newsvine.com, Furl.net, swik.net
    Connotea.org, Links Marker, Sphinn.com, Blinklist.com
    Faves.com, Mister-wong.com, Spurl.net, Netvouz.com
    Diigo.com, Backflip.com, Rawsugar.com, Bibsonomy.org
    Folkd.com, Linkagogo.com, Indianpad.com, Plugim.com
    Myjeeves.ask.com, Buddy Marks, Connected, MyLinkVault
    Google Bookmarks, Jumptags.com, Fetch, OYAX, A1 Webmarks
    Bookmark Tracker, myVmarks, Mixx.com, Wirefan.com
    Danogo.com, Symbaloo, Ximmy, Health Ranker,
    Ka-Boom-It.com
    Good luck with your social marketing!
    Best,
    D
    http://mygemstonebox.blogspot.com
    Simple yet elegant jewerly that is art you wear!

  2. Rachael said,

    August 15, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Thanks for the advice! I have just started selling on Etsy and it’s quite overwhelming!

  3. Cathy said,

    August 16, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Thanks for all the information, and thanks to Diane also. All help is appriciated.

  4. Promote me said,

    August 16, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Good web 2.0 standards and ideals in there, presented well. Good job! Also check out the Promote Me directory.

  5. Nora Anne said,

    August 25, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Great advice, I am new to Etsy and this info will be very helpful!

  6. Candi said,

    December 8, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Thanks for the tips. I am an Etsy newbie looking for ways to get my store out there. This is some great information!

  7. Amy said,

    December 11, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you for the advice. I’m trying to figure out how socialmarker works.

  8. Pam said,

    March 6, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I just tried social marker for the first time after reading these posts. It is not as quick as it claims it is, but it is worth the time. While there are many social networking sites, after a limited amount of time, I found that technorati, reddit and digg are the best. As soon as I used them and submitted my content, the info was on google when I searched my business name.

  9. pumpki3 said,

    March 17, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Thanks for all the great info, I’m going to try to figure out how to use socialmarker!

  10. flawlessart said,

    July 7, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Thank you ,great start

  11. August 5, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks for the tips!

    I use SocialMarker for articles I write (unrelated to my Etsy shop, for now). The first several times you use it, it take a while, because it requires and it you to sign up for these social marker sites if you don’t already have accounts. But once you start using it regularly and it has your account info in its system, it really is helpful and much quicker :). Great if you have a blog! I’ll have to start submitting my shop with it!

  12. Hawear said,

    December 11, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks so much. Just joined etsy yesterday so everything is helpful!

  13. February 23, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    [...] How To Promote Your ETSY Shop 101 [...]

  14. VaKaDi said,

    March 13, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    It is very good!

  15. June 8, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Thank-you for the advice. Another great way to promote your site s by posting a video on YouTube. I did a test video about a year ago and already I have over 16,000 views! If you go to youtube and type in sago palm, you’ll see my name as number 1 or two. It will be under Darlene Massington or Mark4Seed which is my gardening business. When you post a video, you can choose to add a link to your etsy store in the upper right corner. Whenever someone views the video they will quite naturally click the link afterwards. Best of all is that it’s free to do so and you don;t have to have a video camera. You can simply make a slideshow of your products and add music with Camtasia Studios, or even Powerpoint.

  16. June 8, 2010 at 2:36 am

    If anyone wants more info on it, just reply and I don’t mind at all posting a tutorial on how to do so.

  17. MerryDay said,

    August 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    This is great! I opened my shop since January but just getting to learn how to promote my shop just a couple of months now.

    Thanks for sharing :-)

  18. Kathy said,

    September 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Very helpful stuff, thank you!

  19. October 14, 2010 at 3:26 am

    anyone use wordpress and know how to and where to insert mini etsy on blog?
    sorry, new to this…
    thx

  20. November 3, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    marketing online is my way of making money while working at home, it is a good side line ‘

  21. punpunshop said,

    November 15, 2010 at 9:27 am

    thank you, a lot of useful

  22. January 28, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Good tips, thanks!

  23. Emma said,

    March 8, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Etsy sellers should also contact bloggers about direct advertising or giveaways. I’ve done both with Etsy sellers and the partnerships drove a lot of traffic to their shops!

  24. KozyAfghansbyPhyllis said,

    June 11, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Thanks so much for the great tips!! I am new to Etsy, have had one sale, and I am looking forward to promoting my shop!

  25. Ekita said,

    July 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Great tips, will have a look at the social marker now.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Gothminstrel?ref=pr_shop_more

  26. AndyTopps said,

    August 30, 2011 at 8:00 am

    I am new to ETSY, and i was looking for the best way to promote my new estore full of products, i already have one website, but it’s not a eshop, but a article based with affiliate programs generally, i think this is one of the best places to start getting the message out there.thanks

  27. Brandi said,

    September 30, 2011 at 3:12 am

    Thank you for all your information! This was very helpful for me, but I still feel so overwhelmed by selling on etsy. I currently have no one in my circle or friends, so I guess that is where to start :)

  28. Sue said,

    October 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    to syndicate to multiple social networks try http://www.ping.fm

  29. wackymysticalwonders said,

    October 11, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    thanks for the tips im still relatively new to etsy and constantly looking for ways to promote

  30. December 7, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    frillow.etsy.com :) I sell pillow, plushies, and much more!!!

  31. jake said,

    December 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    If you have a facebook here’s an Etsy Shop that has built-in promotion tools:

    https://apps.facebook.com/etsypromo/

  32. Jess said,

    January 16, 2012 at 4:03 am

    Awesome advice!

  33. Angie Mcphie said,

    January 24, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Excellent advice, as a newbie to Etsy selling it is all a bit overwhelming. This is a great and easy to follow guide!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/mygypsycaravan

  34. Brandon said,

    February 17, 2012 at 12:07 am

    check out my store for beautiful wooden kitchen/housewares!

    handmade by me in the USA!!! :)

    beckeriron.etsy.com

  35. Rebecca said,

    August 20, 2012 at 2:33 am

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/LicenseToCraft

  36. Raji said,

    October 9, 2012 at 12:29 am

    thanks for sharing the useful information

  37. Clare said,

    February 2, 2013 at 7:24 am

    Thanks for taking the time to write this guide. As a new jewelry seller you have given me some ideas and places to check out, and in fact prompted me to go ahead and order the business cards I’d already prepped.

    Clare from http://www.etsy.com/shop/oceanicbeads

  38. February 18, 2013 at 3:59 am

    What a great post and definitely helped clear my head a little

  39. July 6, 2013 at 9:37 am

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your site offered us with helpful info to work on. You
    have performed an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  40. August 6, 2013 at 7:50 am

    This is the perfect web site for anybody who really
    wants to understand this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would
    want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for a long time. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  41. talllunatic3123.wordpress.com said,

    September 19, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your site is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  42. March 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this web site’s content everyday along with a cup of
    coffee.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

