ETSY Trial and Error: Best Time to List Your Items

Polymer and Quartz

Polymer and Quartz

 

The blessing of listing at the right time, to the right person, and at the right price is hard to master, especially in the world of ETSY (or any other large selling marketplace). So how do you know that are listing items that are being viewed and viewed alot?  This is really a talent created from error. You would be surprised if you saw my bill, especially from renewing items, but through my overspending I have found that their are simply better times to list. Yes, ETSY is a worldwide marketplace so anytime is virtually a good time, but I find that there are two different really good times during the week, and two really good days to list. Granted, this is a new trade that needs to be learned with every season, but for the next six weeks this oughta be useful.

1. Monday thru Thursday. I have found through much trial and error (and my habit of wanting to renew all day long) that the best times to list, for me, have been around 6am-8am PST, and 4pm-8pm PST. I have been getting alot of hits during these times. Also not just from item listings, but also when I am in the forums. I gain many more harts during those times, because there are alot of people looking to make new friends and new networking buddies! (now Friday is not included simply because it seems the morning hours is the only good time)

 

2. Wednesday and Sunday.  I have generated the most hearts, the most views, and the most successful threads on these days and this really does not surprise me. Many studies have been done on shoppers and the “retail experience” and these are the busiest shopping days for retailers, both conventional and online. I can say online traffic is definitely higher these days, I get the most blog hits to my blog on these two days, by quite a few more. If you have a budget I would stress listing and renewing most of your items these two days.

Just remember online selling, marketing, advertising, and even product itself is all about trial and error. What works for me may not work for you, and vice versa but all we can do is learn from our errors, and keep on keeping on. Mistakes are the best thing to make sometimes, because often times it will put you on the road to success.

Please come see my ETSY shop at: http://naturalamber.etsy.com

13 Comments

  1. Cara said,

    December 1, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you for your helpful information. I have just started my shop on etsy and needed help getting my items seen during this busy holiday season .

  2. Greg said,

    January 12, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
    Good luck to all of us at Etsy!
    ~Greg

  3. Yasmeen said,

    June 24, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I know for me, because I’m marketing to moms, the early mornings and after 8 p.m. have worked for me.

  4. Francesca said,

    March 1, 2010 at 7:18 am

    very helpful article…I will totally try this.

  5. May 6, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Thanks. I’ll try it out. My tendency to list at 3am is clearly not working. :)

  6. MursBlanc said,

    July 12, 2010 at 9:29 am

    thank you- this helps a lot. I live in Europe so I’m at a loss

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/MursBlanc

  7. DRAWCITY said,

    August 14, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Hello, thank you for this post, I’ll give it a go!

  8. MAN MADE SOLE said,

    September 14, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Sooo mad at myself for not thinking of the listing time as being important sooner than now! I’m with you Shirlee Grund, listing from 9pm-2am when my baby is sound asleep is when i’ve been listing. Gotta list at naptime now!! Thanks for sharing!

  9. December 15, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Thanks so much for the advice. I’ve almost been open for 2 months, with no sales. I’ve been trying new tags, and other research. This helped alot.

  10. Kat said,

    January 12, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Thanks so much for sharing this advice! I’m going to try to work harder with what time and days I list. I have been selling on etsy for a while with not much luck. But hopefully this will help :)

  11. Chelsea said,

    March 31, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    thank you for the info!

  12. Ramona said,

    April 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks for the information! I have been trying to get noticed on etsy. There is so much competition online!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

