Setting Yourself Apart with your Jewelry

Summertime Fun

Summertime Fun

Adding your personal touch to your jewelry is like stamping your name on a product packaging, or including your companies name on an invoice slip. How do you make your jewelry different? What makes you stand out from the crowd? When selling in person it’s easy to make a personal impression. Selling online can take a little more work, a little more research, and a little more craftiness.
In my last blog I spoke about finding your niche. Once you know what style of jewlery you like to make it’s important to ask yourself, how can I attract customers to my work? What can I do to really impress them with my style and want to own some of the pieces I make? Setting yourself apart from the competition is really important, and takes research to find out what is going on in the market.
So where do you start with research? The web is an open playing field, and the possibilities are endless on what to look for to find styles that are similar to yours. Social networking sites are a great place to begin, and even the EBAY world is a great place to start your research. What should you start looking at in terms of research. Here are some examples:
1. What trends are popular right now?
2. Does my work stand out from other artists work?
3. How can I make my jewelry stand out with photography?
4. What are the current age markets?
5. What pieces of jewelry are in demand?
6. Do I make something unique that no one really markets? How can I use that to my advantage?
7. Do I use materials that appear to be rare in the market right now?
After you have compiled your on-line research, I would take some time to borrow some magazines from your local library, or purchase the newest magazines from your local store and really browse through them to get some ideas of current trends right now in the market. Check out the colors, the What’s Hot Sections, and the fashion sections. What ads are currently running? What age group is this magazine marketing too? What are they doing differently to make their jewelry appealing? Once you have completed your research you are ready to brainstorm!
Take your research and make it work for you. Decide from what you know about the market how you are going to advertise your work. You may decide that photographing your work in different settings will help make you look different? You may choose to advertise your rare materials, or your “unique” piece of work? Whatever you decide to do, make sure you are comfortable and really believe in your marketing. Practice, try new ideas, and get input from friends and family about your methods. Be successful, and have fun with it!
1 Comment

  1. Matt Hanson said,

    July 24, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Good writing. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed my Google News Reader..

    Matt Hanson


Leave a Reply

