Etsy Renewing 101: When You Know Your An Addict

Beaded Picture Jasper Bracelet

Beaded Picture Jasper Bracelet

 

Handmade Jewelry has always been a popular category on ETSY, as well as competitive so often times an artist can find their work buried quickly among the category. Then the idea and philosophy of “re-newing” became popular, a way to renew older listings and get them back at the top of the category for more views, and potentially another customer! So when do you know you have been renewing a little too much, when do you know your are breaking the bank with renewing fees, when do you know you may be a renewing addict?

 

1. Every morning you wake up and feel the need to renew 3 or more items in your shop, even though you just listed them in the last 48 hours.

 

2. In the middle of the day you feel the urge to check your views, when you feel its been more then 10 minutes and no new views you proceed to renew three more items.

 

3. When you get home, and see your renews from earlier today only gained you little momentum, one new heart, and no new sales you proceed to renew another 3 items in hopes to generate another sell.

 

4. You have renewed more then 4 times a week, or more then 15 listings a week.

 

So waht can you do to break the addiction of renewing without your significant other finding your $60.00 ETSY bill?

 

1. Start out slowly. Feel the need to renew, renew only one item.  If you need to, renew no more then three times a day.

 

2. Find Other Venues to Sell In. Dont abandon ETSY, but also channel your money and advertising into another venue. I recently started shop on ShopHandMade.com, and I am starting shop on Dawanda. Both have low fees, and some have none at all and I am feeling the need to not renew as much.

 

3. Channel Support From the Forums and Chat.  There are many others who have the button finger and find themselves in the same pattern of throwing money out the window to renewing. Start a thread, and others will come and support!

 

4. Sit Down and Account. Really want to know how much it is costing you? Break it up all your costs and your profit. You may get so disheartned by the numbers you’ll stop cold turkey.

 

Come up with a plan, and stay with it. Don’t throw your hard earned money out the window!

 

Love the bracelet above? Come see My Picture Me Jasper Bracelet.

7 Comments

  1. October 16, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I started a shophandmade shopt oo. The biggest draw was the renewing thing.

  2. Soulfulhues said,

    October 16, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I’m lucky that I’ve escaped this addiction as long as I have. I’m just such a cheap skate that I’d just rather list something new then relist an old item LOL

  3. October 16, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I totally understand. Its just way tooo easy to renew and yup, it adds up. I’m now only renewing a couple of my most viewed items a day now.

  4. Jen said,

    October 16, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I’m addicted to renewing! 🙂 I try to renew items in different categories though. Maybe that helps a little. 😉

  5. Carol said,

    October 16, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Yes!! I am an addict. I recently opened my shop and love to renew.

  6. rose h. said,

    October 16, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    That batch upload was enough to break me of the habit. No immediate gratification – no renew!

    It seemed to be fixed today when I, uh, listed something new. Uh, oh! Immediate gratification could be back…

  7. Lotta said,

    October 16, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    I’m a full fledged junkie!


Leave a Reply

