Artfire VS ETSY: Where Are You Selling?

Red Coin Shell Bracelet

 

Everyone who loves handmade has heard of ETSY, and many artists sell on their everyday, but with the increasing amount of sellers on the handmade site artists are looking to branch to other venues, one of these particular ones is Artfire.  Today I took the plunge and finally opened my shop on Artfire, NaturalAmberDesigns.  I have no intentions in replacing my ETSY shop NaturalAmber but I am looking to not keep all my eggs in one basket. The Google SEO is having some issues on ETSY, there are increasing amount of sellers on a daily basis, and the jewelry section is just tremendous. Being in such a saturated category makes me feel like a needle in the haystack, but I will never leave ETSY. Within my short observation of Artfire, this is what I have concluded between the two:

 

* Artfire is quick to setup, and has a wonderful virtual studio for your shop. There is definitely nothing wrong with the shop that ETSY provides but I do love being able to have 10 pictures, custom background colors, endless amount of tags, and not onlya  description space but a space on what inspired me to make the piece.

 

* Right now ETSY gets more views, but the jury is really still out on that. For being  a new handmade site, just beginning in October 2008 you really can’t expect the same amount of traffic. The site is wonderful though and I can imagine it booming in the near future.

 

* Artfire automatically puts your items in Google Base. No more Letsets tool (except for you ETSY shop).

 

* There are so many promotional tools on Artfire to market your items, you can list them in Kaboodle, Tweet about them on Twitter, and so much more. They have over 30 widgets to choose from!

 

* ETSY forums look pretty and are more cleaner looking, but Artfire’s seem more friendly and admin more responsive in helping sort out issues.

 

Those are the main difference I see right now, but as I said this is just my first day. I will post more in the months to come about my experience with Artfire. Unlike 1000markets and Shophandmade, I think this place is really going to grow! The jury is still out on Artfire, but as I said I think I see promising results in the horizon for Artfire sellers.

5 Comments

  1. Kevin said,

    June 18, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Thank-you and welcome to ArtFire. It’s great to have such a talented artisan as yourself add your creative touch to our community! May you have good fortune and many sales.

    Kevin
    ArtFire Member Engagement

  2. Michelle said,

    June 18, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Hello and welcome to Artfire! We are so happy to have you are part of our community. Please feel free to contact us at service@artfire.com if you need any assistance and once again welcome 🙂

    Michelle
    Customer Relations
    artfire.com

  3. August 16, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    I just signed up for artfire as well. I have an etsy shop as well but like u said so many people selling! I also think that the people who do really well on etsy are people who have been there since the beginning. so hopefully i will be one of them for artfire

  4. Bonnie said,

    November 11, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Hi. I just ran across this post while searching for reviews of Etsy vs. Artfire. I met a couple of people this past weekend who sell on Etsy, and I was all fired up to open a store there. But, as always when searching for a new venue, I started by reading the forums. There seems to be a TREMENDOUS amount of anger and unrest among the non-favored hordes at Etsy. Kind of scares me. I would love to know how you feel about Artfire now after having been there for a few months.

    P.S. This blog is absolutely beautiful!

  5. July 15, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I was not having much luck at all on Etsy; for now my items are de-activated as I work on my photos, etc. I ran across Artfire and got all fired up!!! I’ve joined, and have begun using the SO easy tools to promote my Artfire “store”. I’ve been working on it a bit each day, adding promos, links, tags and all the little things that hopefully will add up to more exposure and more sales.
    Your blog is great; I’ll be back to learn more from your very informative articles in the sideline….Happy Selling; take care and good luck!!


Leave a Reply

